Monday, December 14, 2009

Slammy Awards Predictions

It's that time of year again that everyone looks forward to. Well, perhaps not, but the Slammy's could produce some interesting moments tonight on Monday Night Raw which will be hosted by Dennis Miller. Here are the nominees and who I think will take home each award:

Superstar of the Year Nominees:
John Cena
Randy Orton
CM Punk

Although, there is no standout, somehow I think it will be Randy Orton.

Diva of the Year
Nominees: All are eligible.

I'm going to go with Maryse.

Extreme Moment of the Year Nominees:
Kofi Kingston lands a Boom Drop on Randy Orton at MSG.
Big Show chokeslams John Cena into arena spotlight at Backlash.
Jeff Hardy jumps from ladder onto CM Punk at SummerSlam.
Triple H invades Randy Orton's home.

The Kofi Kingston move was even more special because it happened at Madison Square Garden, so that's the moment I'm going with.

Breakout Star of the Year Nominees:
Yoshi Tatsu
Drew McIntyre
Abraham Washington

New W.W.E. Champ Sheamus takes this one.

Shocker of the Year Nominees:
Batista turns against former friend Rey Mysterio.
Randy Orton DDTs Stephanie and forces Triple H to watch.
CM Punk forces Jeff Hardy to retire after Steel Cage Match victory.
Sheamus slams Raw host Mark Cuban through a table.

In order to spread the wealth among the three brands, I think they go with Batista turning on Mysterio.

Tag Team of the Year Nominees:
Jeri-Show (Chris Jericho Big Show)
D-Generation X (Triple H HBK)
The Legacy (Cody Rhodes Ted DiBiase)
The Hart Dynasty (David Hart Smith Tyson Kidd

Anything that will add to Chris Jericho's obnoxiousness is a good thing. So I think he and Big Show take home this award.

Match of the Year Nominees:
Jeff Hardy vs. Edge - Ladder Match at Extreme Rules.
Shawn Michaels vs. Undertaker at WrestleMania.
John Cena vs. Randy Orton - "I Quit Match" at WWE Breaking Point.
Team Raw vs. Team SmackDown at WWE Bragging Rights.

Michaels vs. Undertaker may have been the best match ever, never mind 2009.

Raw Guest Host of the Year Nominees:
Ozzy & Sharon Osbourne
Bob Barker
Seth Green
Shaquille O'Neal

By a mile.....Bob Barker!!!

The "Oh My" Moment of the Year Nominees:
Chris Masters performs special "dancing pecs" routine for Osbournes.
Shawn Michaels superkicks little girl in cafeteria.
Michael Cole vomits on Chris Jericho at SmackDown's 10th Anniversary.
Santino Marella accidentally nails Vickie with a pie.

What would be an awards show without Santino Marella. I think he grabs this award.

No comments: